This magnificent, predominately wooden structure designed by New Orleans architect, James Freret, is architecturally the finest gem in the Grand Coteau crown. Following the approval of the plans by Pope Pius IX, the first cornerstone of the Church of St. Charles Borromeo was blessed and placed on March 19, 1879. The rear belfry was a significant addition to the church in 1886. Its second empire style with a mansard roof is rare and possibly unique among churches in the United States. It houses a 3,104-pound bell, still rung today. The church has a superb collection of religious art, paintings, and statues.
For a guided tour, contact the church to schedule an appointment with Bonnie Barry. Bonnie is a local historian, photographer, and author of the book, For the Greater Honor & Glory of God. Most fascinating is her knowledge of the church’s thirty-two original paintings, including the fourteen Mysteries of the Rosary, and the artist responsible for several pieces, Mr. Erasmus Humbrecht. Guided tours of the church and cemetery are also offered every October during the Sweet Dough Pie Festival!
Ici on parle français. French is spoken here.